Crash Ensemble

Crash Ensemble

The Crash Esemble

The Crash Ensemble is Ireland’s most renowned ensemble in the new music scene. This group of top musicians presents today’s most adventurous and groundbreaking music on the international stage. Since their establishment in 1997, an impressive list of composers has written works especially for them, such as Terry Riley, David Lang, Michael Gordon, Louis Andriessen, Arnold Dreyblatt, Kevin Volans, Glen Branca, Nico Muhly and Gerald Barry. Now they come to the Netherlands and bring two ensemble pieces by Philip Glass and Terry Riley and a series of solo, duo, and trio works by Ondřej Adámek, Mica Levi, Andrew Hamilton, Donnacha Dennehy, and Györgi Ligeti.


  • Philip Glass - Music in Similar Motion (1973)
  • Ondřej Adámek - Chamber Noise (Part II)
  • Mica Levi - Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall (3 movements) 
  • Andrew Hamilton - WALDO
  • Donnacha Dennehy - Bulb 
  • Györgi Ligeti - Hommage a Hilding Rosenberg 
  • Terry Riley - Ancient-Giant-Nude-Hairy-Warriors Racing Down the Slopes of Battle (written for Crash 10th birthday) 

violin Aoife Ni Bhriain | viola Lisa Dowdall | cello Kate Ellis | double bass Malachy Robinson | clarinet Deirdre O’Leary | flute Susan Doyle | percussion Alex Petcu, Owen Gunnell | piano Eliza McCarthy

They will be joined by other members of Crash Ensemble for Terry Riley’s piece at the end.

from the press

'Crash Ensemble, an Irish new-music collective with international cachet and considerable chops'. - The Washington Post

You are here


€ 18,-

Korzo pass

€ 14,50

Prof pass

€ 10,-

< 27 / student

€ 9,-

Order online and save €2,-



visiting address

Prinsestraat 42
2513 CE Den Haag

postal address

Postbus 13407
2501 EK Den Haag